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KERR COUNTY ATTORNEY HEATHER STEBBINS

County CoUurRTHOUSE, SUITE BA-103 « 700 MAIN STREET * KERRVILLE, TEXAS 78028

March 10, 2023

Office of the Attorney General
Attention Opinion Committee
P.O. Box 12548

Austin, Texas 78711-2548

Background

1. Government Code § 493.009(1) requires the Texas Department of Criminal Justice
(TDCJ) to provide transportation from county jails for those inmates who require transfer to the
institutional division of Substance Abuse Felony Punishment Facilities.

2. 37 Administrative Code § 152.3 gives TDCJ 45 days from the date commitment papers
are sent to accept offenders sentenced to prison.

3. Gov. Code § 508.281(c) provides that in parole revocations, after a hearing, a warrant
may issue detaining the offender in the county jail until their transfer to an intermediate sanction
facility or return to their originating institution.

4, Gov. Code § 507.024 permits, but does not require, a county sheriff to transfer defendants
from county jails to state jail facilities. This section further states the state jail division is
responsible for the cost of transportation to the division.

5. The Kerr County Sheriff’s Office (KCSO) has historically transported offenders to the
state jail division, and TDCJ has historically honored invoices for reimbursement. However,
TDCJ has recently taken the position that if is not required to do so. (See Exhibit A attached.)

6. The Kerr County Attorney’s Office (KCAO) reached out to TDCJ, who eventually
clarified the denial letter was sent in error, as Kerr County’s invoice was directed to the wrong
office. However, to date, KCSO has received no additional information related to the referenced
transport. Therefore, KCAO requests an advisory opinion as to KCSO and TDCJ’s respective
responsibilities regarding the detention and transportation of offenders to state jail facilities,
including parole revocations.

Request for Opinion

7. Can TDCIJ require a county sheriff to transport inmates to a SAF-P or ISF?
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8. Can TDCJ refuse to reimburse a county for transporting an inmate to the state jail
division?

9. Upon a refusal by TDCJ to lawfully reimburse a county for a transport, what sanctions or
remedies does a county have with regard to TDCJ?

10. I TDCIJ fails to pick up an inmate for transfer after 45 days as required, what remedies or
sanctions are available to the county?

11.  Isthere another governing rule or statute that would authorize a longer period of
detention in a county facility for state prisoners awaiting transport? If so, is TDCJ required to
reimburse the local government for the costs of that prisoner’s detention?

Sincetely,

Heather Stebbins
Kerr County Attorney
700 Main St BA103
Kerrville, TX 78028




Texas Department of Criminal Justice

Bryan Collier

Executive Director

December 22, 2022

L.L. Leith, Jr., Sheriff

Kerr County Sheriff’s Office

Warrant Division

400 Clearwater Paseo L
Kerrville, TX 78028

RE: Christopher Marsh
SID #. 07541134

To whom it may concern:

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice - Parole Division received the bill, postmarked
12/14/2022 for the fees assessed for transport for Mr. Marsh.

At this time, the Texas State Legislature does not require reimburserment to county jails for their
services, therefore TDCT is unable to pay this bill.

Sincerely,
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“Lela Smith
Section Director, Warrants

TDCI-Parole Division
512-406-5398

The mission of the Parole Division is to promote public safety and positive offender change
through effective supervision, programs, and services.

P.0. Box 13401, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-3401
(512) 406-5401
www.idcj.texas.gav




