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Re:  Request for Attorney General's opinion regarding taxing unit’s authority
to waive penalties and interest pursuant to Tx. Property Tax Code
Section 33.011. ' -

Counselors:

- T have been asked by several of“tile local taxing units to obtain an Attorney General’s
opinion regarding the following question:

May local taxing units waive penalties and interest pursuant to Property
Tax Code Section 33.011 (or any other provision of the Property Tax
Code) on delinquent ad valorem taxes which became delinquent as a result
of an act or omission of an agent of the appraisal district, which were paid
in full (including all accrued penalties and interest) within 21 days after the
taxpayer knew or should have known of the delinquency, when a written

‘request for such waiver was received within such 21 day period, but not
within the 181" day after the delinquency date?

Howard County, Forsan ISD, Howard College and the Permian Basin Underground
~ Water Conservation District levy ad valorem property taxes on the real property in question,
Taxes became delinquent on this property for the years 2003, 2004 and 2005 as a result of
an act or omission on the part of an agent of the appraisal office. The taxpayer became aware
of the delinquency on or about October 15, 2006 and paid the delinquent taxes for all three
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years, including all accrued penalty and interest, under protest on October 30, 2006. The
taxpayer accompanied the payment with a simultancous written request for a waiver of the
penalties and interest pursuant to Texas Property Tax Code Section 33.011. The taxes were
paid, and written request for a waiver was made, sooner than the 21* day after the taxpayer
knew or should have known of the delinquency. However, the request for waiver was not
made before the 181* day after the delinquency date.

Several, perhaps all, of the taxing entities involved would like to waive the penalties -

and interest on this account, but would like to determine whether it is within their authority-

to do so, either pursuant to Texas Property Tax Code Section 33.011 or any other statute or
constitutional provision.

Thank you for our prompt attention to this matter,
Very Truly Yours,

C. E. *Mike” Thomas, III
Howard County Attorney
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