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ELE: Whether the County Clerk should accept for tiling a Declaration of Domestic 
Partnership 

Dear Attorney General Comyn: 

/ The County Clerk of Bexar County, Texas has been asked to file a “declaration of domesti 
partnership,” a sworn statement of two individuals who are unmarried but reside together. The 
document is a declaration and oath that the two individuals share in each other’s lives in a committed 
relationship and that they agree to be jointly responsible for each other’s financial responsibilities. 
Further, the document provides that the two individuals will present the County Clerk with a 
dissolution affidavit within 31 days of the termination of the personal relationship. Should the 
County Clerk accept such a document for filing? 

Local Government Code $192.001 provides that the County Clerk “shall record each deed, 
mortgage, or other instrument that is required or permitted by law to be recorded.” The only 
guidance on what is “permitted by law to be recorded” involves Republic of Texas documents. In 
DM-239, it was determined that a county clerk should not file a judgment issued by a “common law 
court” because no “common law court” is vested with judicial power by constitution or statute. 
Letter Opinion Number 98-016, which also addresses the filing of fraudulent documents issued by 
so-called “common law courts”, states that “the county clerk has a ministerial duty to accept a 
document for tiling and recording if a statute authorizes, requires, or permits it to be’filed in the 
clerk’s office, and if it is regular on its face. If no statute authorizes, requires, or permits a document 
to be filed in the clerk’s office, he may not accept it for filing.” Under this interpretation of LGC 
9 192.00 1, it would appear the county clerk has no authority to accept a “declaration of domestic 
partnership” since that document/declaration is not recognized in the constitution or statutes of this 
state. 
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Please advise whether the County Clerk should accept for filing a “declaration of domestic 
partnership.” 
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