
G R E G  A B B O T T  

March 13,2008 

The Honorable Jeri Yenne Opinion No. GA-0607 
Brazoria County Criminal District Attorney 
1 11 East Locust, Suite 408A Re: Whether Senate Bill 1 16 1 (2007) and 
Angleton, Texas 775 15 House Bill 2884 (2007), both of which 

amended Education Code section 25.095 1, 
can be harmonized (RQ-0625-GA) 

Dear Ms. Yenne: 

Education Code section 25.095 1 (a) requires a school district to file, within a certain time 
period, a complaint or referral against a student who has accumulated a certain number of unexcused 
absences from school. See TEX. EDUC. CODE ANN. 25.095 1(a) (Vernon Supp. 2007), as amended 
by Act of May 25,2007,80th Leg., R.S., ch. 908,s 3 1,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 2274,2288 and Act 
of May 23, 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., ch. 984, $ 1, 2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 3457, 3457-58. Section 
25.095 1 (d) requires a court to dismiss a complaint or referral that is untimely filed. See TEX. EDUC. 
CODE ANN. 5 25.0951(d) (Vernon Supp. 2007). 

In 2007 the Legislature adopted two bills amending section 25.095 l(a). See Act of May 25, 
2007,80th Leg., R.S., ch. 908, 31,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 2274,2288 and Act of May 23,2007, 
80th Leg., R.S., ch. 984, 1, 2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 3457, 3457-58. Because the amendments 
changed different words in subsection (a), you ask which of the two amendments is effective.' 

Prior to amendment by the Eightieth Legislature, Education Code section 25.095 1(a) required 
a school district, within seven school days of the last absence, to file a complaint against or to refer 
to juvenile court a student who had accumulated ten unexcused absences over a six-month period 
within the same school year: 

If a student fails to attend school without excuse on 10 or 
more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same 
school year, a school district shall within seven school days of the 
student's last absence: 

'See Letter from Honorable Jeri Yenne, Brazoria County Criminal District Attorney, to Honorable Greg Abbott, 
Attorney General of Texas (Sept. 13, 2007) (on file with the Opinion Committee, also available at 
http://www.oag.state.tx.us) [hereinafter Request Letter]. 
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(1) file a complaint against the student or the student's 
parent or both in a county, justice, or municipal court for an offense 
under Section 25.0932 or 25.094,3 as appropriate, or refer the student 
to a juvenile court in a county with a population of less than 100,000 
for conduct that violates Section 25.094; or 

(2) refer the student to a juvenile court for conduct 
indicating a need for supervision under Section 5 1.03(b)(2), Family 
Code.4 

Act of May 27,2005,79th Leg., R.S., ch. 949, $37,2005 Tex. Gen. Laws 3 198,321 1-12 (amended 
2007) (current version at TEX. EDUC. CODEANN. $ 25.095 l(a) (Vernon Supp. 2007)) (footnotes and 
emphasis added). 

During the Eightieth session, the Legislature amended section 25.095 1 (a) twice. See Act of 
May 25, 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., ch. 908, $ 31, 2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 2274,2288; Act of May 23, 
2007,80th Leg., R.S., ch. 984,s 1,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws, 3457,3457-58. On May 23,2007, when 
Senate Bill 1 16 1 passed the House and became enrolled, the Legislature changed the word "seven," 
italicized in the quotation above, to the numeral "10." See Act of May 23,2007,80th Leg., R.S., ch. 
984,s 1,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 3457,3457. Two days later, on May 25, by the passage of House Bill 
2884, the Legislature changed the word "last," italicized in the quotation above, to "10th." See Act 
of May 25,2007,SOth Leg., R.S., ch. 908, $31,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 2274,2288. Senate Bill 1161 
did not change the word "last," as House Bill 2884 did; nor did House Bill 2884 change the word 
"seven," as Senate Bill 1 161 did. And neither bill referred to the other. 

Senate Bill 1 161 became effective when the Governor signed it on June 15,2007. See Act 
of May 23,2007,SOth Leg., R.S., ch. 984, $2,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 3457,3458. House Bill 2884, 
on the other hand, became effective on September 1, 2007. See Act of May 25, 2007, 80th Leg., 
R.S., ch. 908, $ 47,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 2274,2291. You suggest that on and after September 1, 
2007, only the later enacted provision-the amendment made by House Bill 2884-is effective; the 
earlier enacted provision, Senate Bill 1161, was effective only from the time of the Governor's 
signature until House Bill 2884 took effect. See Request Letter, supra note 1, at 3. Thus, in your 

'Under Education Code section 25.093, a parent who, with criminal negligence, fails to require a child to attend 
school in accordance with mandatory attendance laws commits an offense. See TEX. EDuC. CODE ANN. $ 25.093(a) 
(Vernon 2006); see also id. $ 25.085 (Vernon Supp. 2007) ("Compulsory School Attendance"). 

3Under Education Code section 25.094, an individual who is required to attend school but who fails to do so 
"on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same school year or on three or more days or parts 
of days within a four-week period" commits an offense. Id. $ 25.094(a) (Vernon 2006); see also id. $25.085 (Vernon 
Supp. 2007) ("Compulsory School Attendance"). 

4Conduct indicating a need for supervision includes "the absence of a child on 10 or more days or parts of days 
within a six-month period in the same school year or on three or more days or parts of days within a four-week period 
from school." TEX. FAEVI. CODE ANN. $ 5 1.03(b)(2) (Vernon Supp. 2007). 
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view, a school district must 
the student's tenth absence. 
be harmonized. See id 

file a "non-attendance complaint" within seven, rather than ten, days of 
Id. at 3. In making this suggestion, you assume the amendments cannot 

We must presume in construing statutes that the Legislature intended its acts to be effective 
in their entirety. See TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. tj 3 1 1.021 (2) (Vernon 2005); Helena Chem. Co. v. 
Wilkins, 47 S.W.3d 486, 493 (Tex. 2001). In particular, "if amendments to the same statute are 
enacted at the same session of the legislature, one amendment without reference to another, the 
amendments shall be harmonized, if possible, so that effect may be given to each." TEX. GOV'T 
CODE ANN. f j  3 1 1.025(b) (Vernon 2005). If two amendments can be harmonized, a court will not 
apply the rule of statutory construction that the later enacted provision prevails. See id. ; Young v. 
State, 14 S.W.3d 748,752 (Tex. Crim. App. 2000). Two legislative enactments need not be found 
to conflict if each makes substantive amendments to the statute that the other does not make. See 
Rhoades v. State, 934 S. W.2d 1 13, 122 (Tex. Crim. App. 1996) (Mansfield, J. with three justices 
concurring, one justice joining only in judgment and two justices concurring in result). 

The two amendments to section 25.0951(a) do not conflict. Senate Bill 1161 increased the 
number of days in which a school district must file a complaint from seven to ten, while House Bill 
2884 made more specific the starting point for the filing period, from the "last" absence to the "1 0th" 
absence. Thus, each amendment changes a different word, and changing both words does not make 
the statute absurd. See Univ. of Tex. S. JT Med. Ctr. v. Loutzenhiser, 140 S.W.3d 351, 356 (Tex. 
2004) ("Courts should not read a statute to create such an absurd result." (quoting Barshop v. Medina 
County Underground Water Conservation Dist., 925 S. W.2d 6 18,629 (Tex. 1996)). 

Consequently, as Opinion GA-0574 suggests, both amendments are effective. See Tex. Att'y 
Gen. Op. No. GA-0574 (2007) at 3. Section 25.095 1(a) reads: 

If a student fails to attend school without excuse on 10 or 
more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same 
school year, a school district shall within 10 school days of the 
student's 1 0th absence: 

(1) file a complaint . . . for an offense under Section 
25.093 or 25.094 . . . or refer the student to a juvenile court . . . for 
conduct that violates Section 25.094; or 

(2) refer the student to a juvenile court for conduct 
indicating a need for supervision . . . . 

TEX. EDUC. CODE ANN. f j  25.0951(a) (Vernon Supp. 2007). 

You also ask whether a school district that has had a complaint dismissed as untimely may, 
given the amendments to section 25.095 1 (a), "file a new complaint with an unexcused absence that 
occurred subsequent to the absences noted on the original complaint . . . within seven days of 



The Honorable Jeri Yenne - Page 4 (GA-0607) 

the latest unexcused absence." Request Letter, supra note 1, at 2 (quoting Tex. Att'y Gen. Op. 
No. GA-04 17 (2006) at 8). As Opinion GA-0574 indicates, "[nlothing in the statute forbids a school 
district [to file] a new complaint listing some of the absences [named] in the dismissed complaint 
in addition to a new, subsequent tenth unexcused absence, so long as all the absences have occurred 
within a six-month period of the same school year." Tex. Att'y Gen. Op. No. GA-0574 (2007) at 
2-3. As the opinion further notes, however, under the amendments to section 25.095 1 (a), the new 
complaint must be filed within ten, not seven, school days of the tenth absence listed in the 
complaint. See id. at 3. To answer your question, therefore, we conclude that a school district may 
file a new complaint listing some of the absences named in the dismissed complaint in addition to 
a subsequent, previously unlisted, unexcused absence. The new complaint must be filed within ten 
days of the tenth absence listed in the new complaint. 
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S U M M A R Y  

Because they can be harmonized, both of the enactments 
adopted by the Eightieth Legislature amending Education Code 
section 25.095 1(a) are effective. Compare Act of May 25,2007,80th 
Leg., R.S., ch. 908, 5 3 1,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 2274,2288, with Act 
of May 23,2007,80th Leg., R.S., ch. 984, 5 1,2007 Tex. Gen. Laws 
3457,3457-58. Consequently, section 25.0951(a) requires a school 
district, within ten school days of the student's tenth absence, to file 
a complaint against or to refer to juvenile court a student who fails to 
attend school without excuse for at least ten days or parts of days 
within a six-month period. 

If the school district files an untimely complaint or referral, it 
may file a new complaint that lists some of the absences named in the 
dismissed complaint in addition to a subsequent, previously unlisted 
unexcused absence. The new complaint must be filed within ten days 
of the tenth absence listed in the new complaint. 

Very truly yours, 

G R E ~ A B B O T T  
Attorney General of Texas 

KENT C. SULLIVAN 
First Assistant Attorney General 

ANDREW WEBER 
Deputy Attorney General for Legal Counsel 

NANCY S. FULLER 
Chair, Opinion Committee 

Kymberly K. Oltrogge 
Assistant Attorney General, Opinion Committee 


