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The Honorable C.E. "Mike" Thomas, I11 Opinion No. GA-0548 
Howard County Attorney 
Post Office Box 2096 Re: Authority of a local taxing unit to waive 
Big Spring, Texas 7972 1-2096 penalties and interest on taxes that became 

delinquent as a result of an act or omission of an 
officer, employee, or agent ofthe appraisal district 
(RQ-0555-GA) 

Dear Mr. Thomas: 

On behalf of several local taxing units you ask the following question: 

May local taxing units waive penalties and interest pursuant to 
Property Tax Code Section 33.01 1 (or any other provision of the 
Property Tax Code) on delinquent ad valorem taxes which became 
delinquent as a result of an act or omission of an agent of the 
appraisal district, which were paid in full (including all accrued 
penalties and interest) within 21 days after the taxpayer knew or 
should have known of the delinquency, when a written request for 
such waiver was received within such 21 day period, but not within 
the 18 1 st day after the delinquency date?' 

Your request relates to a specific property, which is subject to ad valorem tax by four political 
subdivisions. See Request Letter, supra note 1, at 1. The tax assessor for each taxing unit is required 
to mail tax bills to persons in whose names property is listed by October 1 or as soon thereafter 
as practicable. See TEX. TAX CODE ANN. $ 31.01(a) (Vernon Supp. 2006). Subject to narrow 
exceptions, "taxes are due on receipt of the tax bill and are delinquent if not paid before February 
1 of the year following the year in which imposed." Id. 5 3 1.02(a). If a tax bill is mailed after 
January 10, the delinquency date will be postponed until a certain date after the date of mailing to 
allow for paying the taxes before they become delinquent. See id. $ 3  1.04(a). But if no bill is mailed 
to the taxpayer because his address is unknown, the February 1 delinquency date will still apply. See 
Aldine Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Ogg, 122 S.W.3d 257,274-75 (Tex. App.-Houston [lst Dist.] 2003, no 

'Letter from Honorable C.E. "Mike" Thomas, 111, Howard County Attorney, to Honorable Greg Abbott, 
Attorney General of Texas, at 1 (Nov. 15, 2006) (on file with the Opinion Committee, also available at 
http://www.oag.state.tx.us) [hereinafter Request Letter]. 
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pet.) (citing Tex. Att'y Gen. Op. No. JM-1192 (1990) at 8); see also TEX. TAX CODE ANN. 
§ 3 1.0 1 (g) (Vernon Supp. 2006) (failure to send or receive the tax bill required by section 3 1.0 1 
"does not affect the validity of the tax, penalty, or interest, the due date, the existence of a tax lien, 
or any procedure instituted to collect a tax"). Tax Code section 33.01 provides for penalty and 
interest on delinquent taxes. See TEX. TAX CODE ANN. 5 33.0 1 (Vernon 2001). 

You inform us that taxes became delinquent on the property in question for the years 2003, 
2004, and 2005 as a result of an act or omission by an agent of the appraisal office. See Request 
Letter, supra note 1, at 1. The taxpayer became aware of the delinquency on or about October 15, 
2006, and paid under protest the delinquent taxes for all three years, including all accrued penalty 
and interest, on October 30,2006. See id. at 1-2. The taxpayer included with the payment a written 
request for a waiver of penalties and interest. See id. at 2. You ask whether Tax Code section 
3 3.0 1 1 may authorize the taxing units to waive penalties and interest. See id. at 1-2. This provision 
states in part: 

(a) The governing body of a taxing unit: 

(1) shall waive penalties and may provide for the waiver of 
interest on a delinquent tax if an act or omission of an officer, 
employee, or agent of the taxing unit or the appraisal district in which 
the taxing unit participates caused or resulted in the taxpayer's failure 
to pay the tax before delinquency and if the tax is paid not later than 
the 2 1 st day after the date the taxpayer knows or should know of the 
delinquency[.] 

TEX. TAX CODE ANN. § 33 .011 (a)(l) (Vernon Supp. 2006); see also id. 5 33 .011 (b) (waiver of 
interest and penalties if a tax bill is returned undelivered to the governmental body, subject to 
additional conditions), (h) (waiver of interest and penalties if a tax payable by electronic funds 
transfer was delinquent because of an error in the transmission). 

The section 33.01 1 waiver provisions are, however, subject to the following limitation: 

A request for a waiver of penalties and interest under 
Subsection (a)(l), (b), or (h) must be made before the 18 1 st day after 
the delinquency date. . . . To be valid, a waiver ofpenalties or interest 
under this section must be requested in writing. I fa  written request 
for a waiver is not timely made, the governing body of a taxing unit 
may not waive any penalties or interest under this section. 

Id. 5 33.01 l(d) (emphasis added). The italicized language of section 33.01 1 (d) was adopted by an 
act of the Seventy-ninth Legislature that included the following transition clause: 

Section 33.01 1, Tax Code, as amended by this Act, applies 
only to a request for a waiver of penalty or interest made on or after 
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the [September 1, 20051 effective date of this Act. A request for a 
waiver made before the effective date of this Act is governed by the 
law as it existed immediately before the effective date of this Act, and 
the former law is continued in effect for that purpose. 

Act of May 29,2005,79th Leg., R.S., ch. 1126,s 29(g), 2005 Tex. Gen. Laws 3717,3730. See also 
id. § 15, at 3723 (amending Tax Code section 33.01 l(d)); id. 30, at 373 1 (effective September 1, 
2005). 

Section 33.01 l(d) of the Tax Code, as amended in 2005, applies to the taxpayer's written 
request for a waiver of penalties and interest made on October 30,2006. See id. 29(g), at 3730. 
You have stated that the taxpayer's written request for a waiver of penalties and interest was not 
made before the 18 1 st day after the delinquency date for each of the three years in which taxes were 
delinquent. See Request Letter, supra note 1, at 2. The plain language of section 33.0 1 1 (d) compels 
us to conclude that the taxing units may not waive penalties or interest on the delinquent taxes. 

You ask whether any other statute or constitutional provision authorizes taxing units to waive 
the penalties and interest on this account. See id. at 1-2. Because you provide no specifics about 
the act or omission causing the taxpayer's failure to pay his taxes on time, we will answer your 
questions in general terms. 

We note initially that a taxpayer is charged with knowledge of the law. See Mexia Indep. 
Sch. Dist. v. City of Mexia, 133 S.W.2d 118, 121 (Tex. 1939); see also Texaco, Inc. v. Short, 454 
U.S. 5 16, 532 (1 982) (property owners are especially charged with knowledge of laws relating to 
taxation). Moreover, a political subdivision may not waive penalties and interest imposed by statute 
absent statutory authority. See Tex. Att'y Gen. LO-93-58, at 2 (special district may not waive 
penalties and interest due on delinquent taxes); see also Tex. Att'y Gen. Op. No. JM-74 (1983) 
at 2 (appraisal district may not waive penalties and interest imposed upon taxing units that are 
delinquent in paying their share of the district's expenses). Tax Code section 41.41 entitles a 
property owner to protest certain actions before the appraisal review board, including "any other 
action ofthe chief appraiser, appraisal district, or appraisal review board that applies to and adversely 
affects the property owner," and section 41.41 1 authorizes a property owner to "protest before the 
appraisal review board the failure of the chief appraiser or the appraisal review board to provide or 
deliver any notice to which the property owner is entitled." TEX. TAX CODE ANN. $8 41,41(a)(9), 
.411(a) (Vernon 2001). A notice of the protest must be filed with the appraisal review board 
according to the applicable deadlines of section 41.44. See id. 41.44 (Vernon Supp. 2006); see 
also id. 5 41.44(c) (notice of protest authorized by section 4 1.4 1 1 must be filed before the date when 
the taxes become delinquent). Whether any remedies are available to a particular taxpayer depends 
on the facts of that case. 
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S U M M A R Y  

Tax Code section 33.0 1 1 requires a taxing unit to waive 
penalties and authorizes it to waive interest on a delinquent tax if the 
taxpayer's failure to pay the tax before delinquency resulted from an 
act or omission of an officer, employee, or agent of the taxing unit or 
the appraisal district in which the taxing unit participates and if the 
tax was paid not later than the 21 st day after the date the taxpayer 
knew or should have known of the delinquency. Section 33.01 1 
requires such a request for a waiver of penalties and interest to be 
made before the 18 1 st day after the delinquency date. 

Very truly yours, 

~tton&&dneral of Texas 
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