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V.T.C.S. (RQ-2148) 

Dear Dr. Kirby: 

You have requested our opinion 
American Association of Retired Persons 

as to whether the 
[hereafter AARP] may 
complying with the ~. offer driver safety courses without 

requirements of article 4413(29c), V.T.C.S. Section 2 of 
that statute provides: 

No person, firm, association, 
corporation 

partnership 
shall operate commercial 

ZEiver-training school unless a cktificate of 
approval for the commercial driver-training 
school has been secured under the Texas 
Proprietary School Act (Chapter 32, Education 
Code), provided that training or classes 
conducted by colleges, universities, high 
schools, and junior high schools for students 
as part of the normal program for such insti- 
tutions shall be exempt. 

Yomnercial driver-training schooln or "school" is defined 
in section l(a) as 

any enterprise conducted by an individual, 
association, partnership, or corporation, for 
the education and training of persons, either 
practically or theoretically, or both, to 
operate or drive motor vehicles and 
consideration or tuition for such services. 
(Emphasis added). 

Before September 1, 1989, the Department of Public 
Safety regulated the licensing'of commercial driver-training 
schools and instructors. Since that date, the Texas Educa- 
tion Agency has been the regulating agency, and section 16 
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provides that any reference in the statute "to the Depart- 
ment is a reference to the agency."1 

You indicate that the AARP offers a driver safety 
course to its members and to other persons over the age of 
50, at a charge of $8.00, for the purpose of ticket dismiss- 
al and insurance discounts. When the Department of Public 
Safety was the regulating agency, it did not require the 
AAPP or its instructors to obtain a license. The department 
did so despite a 1970 attorney general opinion addressed to 
the department stating that driver-training programs con- 
ducted by non-profit organizations were subject to the 
licensing requirement even if the organization charged only 
a nominal fee. Attorney General Opinion M-682 (1970). 

The AARP contends that it should retain its exempt 
status because 1) it is a non-profit organization: 2) it 
charges no "tuition" but only a nominal fee to cover course 
costs: and 3) its instructors teach on a non-salaried 
volunteer basis, are reimbursed only for the expenses of 
mileage, photocopying and telephone calls, and receive a 
meal allowance of $5.00 for each of the two days of instruc- 
tion. 

Those arguments were rejected in Attorney General 
Opinion M-682, and we affirm the conclusions of that opin- 
ion. The definition of llcommercial driver-training school," 
S~BIB, is applicable to any entity that charges wa consid- 
eration or tuition" for its services. Section 312.002(a) of 
the Government Code declares that words in a statute "shall 

1. In order to effect the transfer of regulatory 
authority, section 4.30 of the 1989 amendatory act provides: 

The provider of a driver safety course 
approved by the Department of Public Safety 
may not continue the course after October 1, 
1989, unless the provider files on or before 
that date an application for a certificate of 
approval under Chapter 32, Education Code. If 
the provider files an application on or before 
that date, the provider may continue the 
course during the period that the application 
is pending. 

Acts 1989, 71st Lag.,' ch. 813, S 4.30, at 3709. 
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be given their ordinary meaning." Whether AARP makes a 
profit on its $8.00 fee is irrelevant for purposes of 
whether that charge is deemed %onsideration or tuition." 
The fact remains that the AARP imposes the charge, and the 
statute contains no exemption for entities that do not make 
a profit on the instructional enterprise. 

Nor does the construction formerly placed on article 
4413(29c) by the Department of Public Safety act to exempt 
the AARP from its scope. Although a departmental interpre- 
tation of a statute may be useful when the statute is 
ambiguous, the interpretation will not be followed when it 
is contrary to the plain words of the statute. 
#, 415 S.W.td 394, 397 E , 
1967); ; I , 527 S.W.2.d 175 (Tex. 
1975); see also wssioner of as. v. Allstate Ins. Co, 
579 S.W.2d 553, 557 (Tax. Civ. App. - Austin 1979, wrii 
ref td n.r.e). A clearly erroneous statutory construction by 
an administrative agency carries no weight. s & New 

oad Co. v. - 284 S.W.ld 402 (Tex. Civ. 
APP. - Austin 1955, writ ref’d n1r.e.). This is particular- 
ly true when the agency interpretation was contrary to an 
attorney general opinion issued to that agency. We conclude 
that the AARP is not exempt from the definition of "commer- 
cial driver-training school' in section l(a) and thus must 
comply with the requirements of section 2 in order to 
operate such a school. 

You also ask whether an AARP instructor, under the 
circumstances described, is subject to the licensing re- 
quirement set out in section 5 of article 4413(29c): 

No person shall teach give 
driver-training for hire or forortuition 
either as an individual or in a commerciai 
driver-training school, or any phase of 
driver-training or education after January 1, 
1968, unless a license as a driver-training 
instructor or supervisory driver-training 
instructor has been secured from the Depart- 
ment, provided that instructors in classes 
conducted by colleges, universities, high 
schools, and junior high schools for regular- 
ly enrolled students as a part of the normal 
program for such institutions shall be 
exempt. 

We understand you to ask about a situation in which an 
individual pays to receive driver training but the 
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individual who provides the instruction receives no compen- 
sation. 2 Your question is whether the instructor in that 
situation teaches "for hire or for tuition." 

In that context, the language "for hire or for tuition" 
is susceptible to two interpretations. One is that an 
individual who receives no compensation is not teaching for 
hire or for tuition. The other interpretation is that as 
long as the person receiving 
instruction, the teacher 

instruction has paid for that 
is teaching for hire or tuition. 

The latter interpretation, we think, better serves the 
purpose of article 4413(29c). 

We think the legislature intended article 4413(29c) to 
protect consumers. The act contemplates that a consumer who 
pays for driver training will receive a certain standard of 
training. Allowing schools that must be licensed to use 
unlicensed instructors contravenes that purpose. We con-. 
elude, therefore, that an instructor who teaches driver _ 
training to a person who has paid to receive driver training 
teaches "for hire or for tuition" and is subject to licens- 
ing under section 5 of article 4413(29c). 

SUMMARY 

A private, non-profit organization that 
charges an $8.00 fee for driver safety in- 
struction, and an instructor therefor, fall 
within the ambit of "commercial 
driver-training school" and "driver-training 
instructorlq and thus must comply with the 
requirement of article 4413(29c), 
which regulates such operations. 

V.T.C.S., 

JIW MATTOX 
Attorney General of Texas 

2. On the facts you present, the AARP instructors are 
not uncompensated since they receive a meal allowance. 
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MARYKE(ELLER 
First Assistant Attorney General 

LOU MCCREARY 
Executive Assistant Attorney General 

JUDGE ZOLLIE STEAKLEY 
Special Assistant Attorney General 

RENEA HICKS 
Special Assistant Attorney General 

RICK GILPIN 
Chairman, Opinion Committee 

Prepared by Rick Gilpin and Sarah Woelk 
Assistant Attorneys General 
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