Chapter 402 of the Texas Government Code lists the public officials authorized to request attorney general opinions and establishes the procedures for submitting requests. Authorized requestors may seek advice on a question affecting the public interest or concerning the official duties of the requesting person.  Opinion requests received during the Paxton, Abbott, and Cornyn Administrations can be accessed below. 

For access to opinion requests submitted to the Office of the Attorney General prior to 1998, please file a Public Information Act request at our Public Information Request Center.

Ken Paxton
2015 - Present
Angela Colmenero
2023 (Provisional AG)
John Scott
2023 (Provisional AG)
Greg Abbott
2002 - 2014
John Cornyn
1998 - 2002